MLS SuperDraft Thoughts

Prior to the start of MLS SuperDraft 2011, I expected that DC United would take either a forward or center back with the third overall pick. I was pulling for a forward, but when arguably the two best at the position, Omar Salgado and Darlington Nagbe, went off the board, it became clear that the team would not reach for a forward, instead opting to take the best player available. Perry Kitchen is viewed by many to be the best player in the entire draft, and I can only hope that’s the case. I won’t pretend that I know much of him from watching his matches at Akron, but it does appear that we got ourselves a steal. At 6’0, 160 pounds, I have questions about him going up against bigger, physical center forwards, but those will be answered in due time.

Once DC United did not select a foward in the first round, I wondered whether it meant that the front office had a good line on acquiring a forward by some other means. The odds of finding one who could contribute in the 2nd and 3rd rounds (and Supplemental Draft) were very slim, so I didn’t expect anything from that. The offseason is still going, so it’s too soon to jump to any conclusions, but I cannot imagine that they are standing pat with the stable of forwards that currently exists, with Chris Pontius, Josh Wolff, and Joseph Ngwenya. Before and now after the draft, goalscorer was this team’s biggest need. I anxiously wait to see when/how/if it is addressed.

Other draft notes:

– The best represented groups of supporters were DC, Philadelphia, and Metros. There was a small segment of New England supporters, and just a smattering of the others.

– Metros supporters set up directly behind us, and the back and forth between our group and theirs was a lot of fun. Too bad almost all Metros fans have to sing about us is about how they think the team is moving to Baltimore. The "I believe that DC sucks" call and answer was penned by 10-year-olds.

– The speeches by drafted players were forced and awkward, and made the draft much longer than it needed to be. The number of them who thanked their girlfriends was only eclipsed by the number of them who thanked God.

– What in the hell is a timeout during the draft about? Doesn’t that eliminate the purpose of a clock?

With roster holes still to fill, the offseason trudges on. I have as much of an idea about what’s going to happen in the next few weeks as I do what the Powerball numbers will be tomorrow. Ben Olsen’s putting his stamp on the team, but he isn’t done yet. I hope.

Leave a comment